nabinadas13

Do You See?

"Redness" wins a prize


It was nice to know I was awarded the 1st prize for my entry “REDNESS” by the UNISUN-Reliance poetry contest. That poem is special to me.

Here’s the text:

Redness

The summer storm bloomed on an eastern sky

the west looked red

roses of anger heaped on a bush stuck in its thorns

smarting faces, hatred.

**

You were watching Caché in the living room TV

blood squirting from slashed up necks

headless chickens scattered in an ungainly race

backwards, forward, again back.

**

My finger touched a tomato skin shedding light

of a red ink, darklike –

wasn’t this what my father’s revolutionary friends

brought in, a newspaper wrapped tight

**

So not everyone would know how words tumble

red and angry on our roads?

I thought I saw a word flutter open again, a hue,

not a name or mundane things like odes.

**

You thought we’d lost our tongues, our attitude

piled under the redness of shame

peripheral to storms, deaths, news of constant ruse

and I realized, a color doesn’t need a name.


(By the way, someone asked with chagrin why I enter contests and I said, “To pay my bills”. That is partly true. I want to break even one day and take a cruise somewhere. Is that bad? At least I don’t want my poetry to be just read in tiny groups that’ll only say “awww”. I want poetry to sit in the bazaar and yell and gesture at passers-by… Ah, okay.)

Image from Internet: pop art
2 comments on “"Redness" wins a prize

  1. Paromita
    October 13, 2010

    >Beautiful, evocative poetry. Looking forward to reading Footprints soon.

  2. Rhett
    October 26, 2010

    >I will write like this after many a forever – I will – "I thought I saw a word flutter open again, a hue,not a name or mundane things like odes" wow! The correspondences across stanzas are well built – hue – red – tomato – etc. I feel exactly like a kindergarten student –

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2010 by in Nabina Das, poetry, Redness, UNISUN.
