nabinadas13

Do You See?

Carpe Diem! London-Brighton-Photos. Hug a Swan, What?

Fatalists are a specific people. With all due respect, I’m not one. Although, a friend rapped me saying that in my recent posts I sound fatalistic. How? No! I’m more the “carpe diem” type. Somewhat Epicurean! Without malice to anyone (or in reverse, to one and all!).  So, to celebrate this thought and please my blogger friends, I have to turn to John Donne again for a read this evening:

The Good-Morrow

BY JOHN DONNE

I wonder, by my troth, what thou and I
Did, till we loved? Were we not weaned till then?
But sucked on country pleasures, childishly?
Or snorted we in the Seven Sleepers’ den?
’Twas so; but this, all pleasures fancies be.
If ever any beauty I did see,
Which I desired, and got, ’twas but a dream of thee.
*
And now good-morrow to our waking souls,
Which watch not one another out of fear;
For love, all love of other sights controls,
And makes one little room an everywhere.
Let sea-discoverers to new worlds have gone,
Let maps to other, worlds on worlds have shown,
Let us possess one world, each hath one, and is one.
*
My face in thine eye, thine in mine appears,
And true plain hearts do in the faces rest;
Where can we find two better hemispheres,
Without sharp north, without declining west?
Whatever dies, was not mixed equally;
If our two loves be one, or, thou and I
Love so alike, that none do slacken, none can die.

*
Source: The Norton Anthology of Poetry Third Edition (1983)

***

I told you about my London-Brighton visits. Photos are available now; click HERE. My favourites are the graffiti photos. Street art.

***

What a lovely day in Stirling. Sun and fresh grass smell. I could hug a swan! Oh, this brings to my mind a writing fun we had at Skidmore College, NY, last summer, around Yeats’ Leda and the Swan. Stop, stop. Do not attempt a Freudian analysis now! I promise to write about that later.

Finished my Q&A draft for the next post on PRAIRIE SCHOONER (University of Nebraska-Lincoln). Will do the edits tonight after my run/walk.

Carpe Diem!

sundial inscribed carpe diem: Wikipedia

2 comments on “Carpe Diem! London-Brighton-Photos. Hug a Swan, What?

  1. Mihir Vatsa
    May 13, 2012

    Ah, didn’t we become friends on that L&S exercise on FB? 😉

  2. Do You See
    May 13, 2012

    Were you a part of that poetry exercise MV? I do remember several people taking my cue to write their versions of an L&S poem. Somewhere all this should get archived but fb doesn’t do it. What a shame.

    I just got back from a luncheon theatre in town and saw you posted a poem on my page — How to Oil an Indian Man’s Hair by Jessica Tyner. Intriguing title. Will read soon. It’s raining squirrels and bunnies here and I need coffee!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 12, 2012 by in Carpe Diem, John Donne, Nabina Das, poetry, Stirling, The Good-Morrow.
