nabinadas13

Do You See?

“And what we best conceive we fail to speak”

I don’t want to say anything here tonight, despite having had a wonderful day. Speaking is useless. Poetry is useful.

Well, only if you know what it means. Especially, when no one will quote this in august surroundings:

“Insufficiency” by Elizabeth Barrett Browning

When I attain to utter forth in verse
Some inward thought, my soul throbs audibly
Along my pulses, yearning to be free
And something farther, fuller, higher, rehearse
To the individual, true, and the universe,
In consummation of right harmony:
But, like a wind-exposed distorted tree,
We are blown against for ever by the curse
Which breathes through Nature. Oh, the world is weak !
The effluence of each is false to all,
And what we best conceive we fail to speak.
Wait, soul, until thine ashen garments fall,
And then resume thy broken strains, and seek
Fit peroration without let or thrall.

P.S.

Seconds after I post this, the need for P.S. arises.

Because someone writes back asking: “Are you annoyed with something?”

My answer is: “Read that goddamned poem.”

2 comments on ““And what we best conceive we fail to speak”

  1. Mihir Vatsa
    May 16, 2012

    ‘But, like a wind-exposed distorted tree,
    We are blown against for ever by the curse
    Which breathes through Nature.’

    First time I’ve read her poetry and I like her already. 🙂
    In the first year, we had Robert Browning. He was a dude too.

  2. Do You See
    May 17, 2012

    They didn’t teach you EBB at all in college, Vatsa? How strange. Robert Browning is wonderful no doubt, especially, to think of the dramatic narrative poems of his. A friend of mine is writing a story where one can defeat/eliminate zombies by reciting Browning effectively!!

    Click on her name and read “Sonnets from the Portuguese”, all quite riveting. Especially because of EBB’s mastery of form and meter. You surely have read “Sonnets from the Portuguese 43: How do I love thee? Let me count the ways”?

    But I also very much like “To Flush, My Dog”. You know, as a dog person 🙂

    Although I may sound like, I actually AM NOT annoyed at anything or anyone in this post. EBB happens to be written about because I attended a rather interesting talk last night by a scholar from Sheffield. I guess a combination of long day, good food, red wine, great conversation, a walk in the drizzle, and general sleepfulness made me sound as though I was impatient 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 16, 2012 by in Elizabeth Barrett Browning, Insufficiency, Nabina Das, poetry, Stirling.
