nabinadas13

Do You See?

Mini-Review; Toru Dutt: Sonnet; Tintin Photo

Still don’t have anything new to write on the blog. I’m surprised.

My mini-review, the first advanced US review, of Adil Jussawalla‘s latest poetry collection “Trying to Say Goodbye“, is out on Prairie Schooner.

Adil seemed happy about it. In an email he wrote: “Thanks for the positive review. I appreciate it… My health has improved a bit but I still don’t go out very much. Hope to hear from you before you return. With my best wishes…”

Such a dear person.

***

A friend mentioned Toru Dutt and I recalled a sonnet she wrote in 1876. The joke was, sitting in Scotland and reading this poem made me feel better.

Was I missing home? You read and tell me:

A sea of foliage girds our garden round,
But not a sea of dull unvaried green,
Sharp contrasts of all colors here are seen;
The light-green graceful tamarinds abound
Amid the mango clumps of green profound,
And palms arise, like pillars gray, between;
And o’er the quiet pools the seemuls lean,
Red–red, and startling like a trumpet’s sound.
But nothing can be lovelier than the ranges
Of bamboos to the eastward, when the moon
Looks through their gaps, and the white lotus changes
Into a cup of silver. One might swoon
Drunken with beauty then, or gaze and gaze
On a primeval Eden, in amaze.

Written in 1876, what boundaries this sonnet has pushed so marvelously! And such a young life.

***

I’ve been planning to do a Tintin post for a l-o-n-g time. Somehow never happened. And even now, I feel lazy to do it . Perhaps have a photo here as a reminder for later. I’ll do a post later, promise!

 

Tintin is next to a train. He looks clueless. Or maybe I’m clueless about what he’s doing. Not sure what the story is here. But the photo is from a Tintin site I subscribe to. Will have to go look for more info. Yawn. It’s past midnight.

4 comments on “Mini-Review; Toru Dutt: Sonnet; Tintin Photo

  1. Mihir Vatsa
    June 12, 2012

    That was rather a micro-mini review. It just ended. 😐

    Like this sonnet, especially this bit-

    ‘But nothing can be lovelier than the ranges
    Of bamboos to the eastward, when the moon
    Looks through their gaps, and the white lotus changes
    Into a cup of silver.’ 🙂

    Believe it or not, but I haven’t read anything of Tintin. Though, I just finished The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes. Very short book, 150 pages. But dudette, WHAT a book that was! Amazing, as in just amazing. Story+philosophical investigation (I am reminded here of Rand’s Fountainhead, though I never completed it), and references to Camus, suicides… good enough to make my day! You’ve got to read it if you haven’t yet. I was just numb, hand trembling and all, etc, after reading it!

    • Do You See
      June 12, 2012

      Oh, you have NOT read any Tintin, Vatsa! Unbelievable. Thanks for Julian Barnes recco. I know the book cursorily. But hand trembling and all…can modern writers be really this good? Joking, of course! I don’t much like Rand.
      That part, till the end line, is my favorite portion. Toru Dutt is amazing. GO READ TINTIN. It’s pretty close to Camus 🙂

  2. rohith003
    June 12, 2012

    I like these poems…the poems that run with a music and mood entwined.

    “Looks through their gaps, and the white lotus changes
    Into a cup of silver. One might swoon
    Drunken with beauty then, or gaze and gaze
    On a primeval Eden, in amaze.”

    ~My favorite part.

    And yes…Toru Dutt, she just stuns me.My father was reading this poet that day and I went to him to talk something and sat there beside him. And I started reading what he was reading and it was from that time that I became very fascinated about Toru Dutt. I always tried to imitate her during my early days.

    And yes…that is really a mini review… Would like to read more Tintin stuff on your blog.

    • Do You See
      June 12, 2012

      Hey Rohith, you’re right about the music and mood. TD’s rhythm is graceful and for an 1876 poem, this rings clear and elevated without resorting to high notions. Happy that your father reads poetry. My father did too.

      As for the “mini-review”, this specific PS feature is a bookshelf kind of thing, several reviews bunched together, hence mini. A longer one can appear if I write one for my regular contribution. And I will do that later.

      Why don’t you check out the Tintin site that I linked on the blog and just read. Tons out there.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2012 by in Adil Jussawalla, Nabina Das, poetry, Prairie Schooner, Sonnet, Tintin, Toru Dutt, Trying to Say Goodbye.
