nabinadas13

Do You See?

Poetry Reading at EFL University; “I Carry Your Heart with Me”

This is a notice for my forthcoming poetry reading. Not sure if people would care about a reading announcement on the blog. But what do I care! I have not much else to divulge (means, there is stuff to write which I don’t want to write). So here it is:

Department of English Literature

The English and Foreign Languages University

Hyderabad

Invites You to

Talks by

Nabina Das

On

Explorations into the Migrant City: Creative Writing or Brick and Mortar Work?

&

Sridala Swami

On

Making Raids, Not Colonies: An Approach to Writing and Critiquing Poetry

The talks will be followed by the two poets reading from their individual works

Date: 25 July 2012 (11 AM-12.30 PM)

Venue: Conference Room, ADMIN Block, EFL University

NABINA DAS, a 2012 Charles Wallace Fellow with the University of Stirling, UK, is the author of Footprints in the Bajra, a novel. Her poetry collection Into the Migrant City is forthcoming from Writers Workshop. Another short poetry collection, tentatively titled Blue Vessel, will be published by Zaporogue press, Denmark. Her work has been included in several Indian and international anthologies, the latest being The Yellow Nib from Queen’s University, Belfast. She has been a featured poet, including at 2012 Hyderabad Literary Festival and 2010 Prakriti Foundation.

SRIDALA SWAMI’s poetry has appeared in anthologies such as The Bloodaxe Book of Contemporary Indian Poets (ed. Jeet Thayil, UK: Bloodaxe, 2008), in Not A Muse (ed. Katie Rogers and Viki Holmes, Hong Kong: Haven Books, 2009) and in The HarperCollins Book of Modern English Poetry by Indians (ed. Sudeep Sen, India: Harper Collins, forthcoming). Swami’s first collection of poems, A Reluctant Survivor, was published by Sahitya Akademi. Swami was the 2011 Charles Wallace Writer-in-Residence at the University of Stirling, UK.

***

Sridala and I are both Charles Wallace fellows. She called me this afternoon and suddenly Stirling came alive again! Those swans, the loch, the genteel people in the Pathfoot building, smiling porters and the helpful townspeople. As if I lived an entire life there in those 3 months. Weird. And beautiful too. I wonder, does the evening still stretch it’s ruddy hands till late in the night?

***

All this brings me to E E Cummings in remembrance of Stirling’s spring:

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in
my heart)i am never without it(anywhere
i go you go,my dear; and whatever is done
by only me is your doing,my darling)
i fear no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want
no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)
and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
and whatever a sun will always sing is you
here is the deepest secret nobody knows
(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows
higher than the soul can hope or mind can hide)
and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart
i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)
– e. e. cummings ~

The poem is NOT center aligned. This blog from where I copy pasted it, did this abomination. And I’m too tired to rectify it. Later maybe.

***

And a photo as usual. What will it be? Come on now, we spoke so much about Stirling. It has to be that place where I lived a life!

The Wallace monument seen from Stirling Castle premises, near the outdoor seating of the cafe there. Stirling campus is right behind that elegant monument.

One comment on “Poetry Reading at EFL University; “I Carry Your Heart with Me”

  1. Shruti sareen
    August 9, 2013

    When will Into the Migrant City be released?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 23, 2012 by in E E Cummings, Nabina Das, poetry, Stirling.
