nabinadas13

Do You See?

Sandburg’s September: “white hydrangeas turn rust”; Short Fic Book in Pipeline; What Way I Go?!

So, my avid blogger friends tell me I should get a domain. Sounds impressive — domain. There is a Lord of the Rings-ish ring to it!

As it is I am slow on this blog; with a domain I might just go to sleep, thinking all is hunky dory in this world. That makes me think if all is topsy turvy in this world at all. Well, for one, I might have to leave Hyderabad. This is even before I struck a conversation with the city. But I liked Hyderabad as a city. It gave me things to want and enjoy minus the pressure of obligations.

Where am I going? Won’t be confirming now. However, I’ll be with my mother and my brother in Kolkata to spend the Puja holidays. No, I’m not your obeisance-laden religiously righteous woman. Just a cultural lover of Puja and similar festivals. Okay, a glutton, to put it straight. That’s the only reason why I endorse Christmas, Puja, Eid, weddings, etc. But the vacation will be a nice respite. And I get to share some good news with my mother and brother.

***

Ah, the good news.

My short story collection is with a publisher. To appear within the next few months, possibly to be displayed at the Jaipur Literary Festival 2013 and Frankfurt Book Fair 2013. The book, tentatively titled “The House of Twining Roses: Stories of the Unmapped“, is being published by LiFi Publications, an imprint of DK Agencies. And some of my writer friends’ mss are also picked up by them.

How ’bout a January soiree in Jaipur then? Rubbing shoulders with the nawobs of literature!

LiFi has released a catalog that would be sent to the aforementioned book fests. I got a terrible mug in there. The only thing I like is my neck-piece! Take a look:

***

September is over! But I was still reading September poems from friends who live in Texas, Bangalore and Vancouver. Different versions of September regaled, needless to say. I remained stuck however to this:

“Hydrangeas” by Carl Sandburg

Dragoons, I tell you the white hydrangeas turn rust and go soon.
Already mid September a line of brown runs over them.
One sunset after another tracks the faces, the petals.
Waiting, they look over the fence for what way they go.

***

Can you tell me, what way they go? What way I go!

2 comments on “Sandburg’s September: “white hydrangeas turn rust”; Short Fic Book in Pipeline; What Way I Go?!

  1. Do You See
    October 8, 2012

    Sheesh, I forgot to thank the University of Stirling’s English Studies folks for the book publication. They had hosted me for the Charles Wallace fellowship from April to June. It’s there that I polished up a few of the stories in the collection. And especially, thank you David, thank you Richard!

  2. Shruti Sareen
    October 15, 2012

    Splendid News, Nabina! Congrats! 🙂 where/ when would the book be released? and I would love to come for the JLF if you are going to be an added incentive!
    you make it seem that the move from hyd is a bigger one and not merely for a short Kolkata visit?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 8, 2012 by in Carl Sandburg, fiction, House of Twining Roses, LiFi Publications, Nabina Das, poetry.
