nabinadas13

Do You See?

My Poems in Hindi — Cloud Messaging; Beach Bumming! “The Fisherman’s Farewell”

Hindi poets and translators Aparna Manoj, Arun Dev and Reenu Talwar were a driving force behind getting some of my poems translated into Hindi for their web journal Samalochan Literary. Both Arun and Aparna write in Hindi and organize discussions around writing in both Hindi and English. Aparna sought some poems from me which she passed on to Reenu for a very able translation.

Read Samalochan’s link here to savor the Hindi version. Alongside my name in Hindi, they have titled me “Megh Doot”, or, Cloud Messenger, a hark back to the ancient Sanskrit poet Kalidasa. Interesting!

Some of these poems are in my latest published collection BLUE VESSEL.

***

Beach Bumming!

Why not. Even when it is January!

My friend Prof. Debra Castillo is visiting India for three months. We took a week off to visit Kerala. We are in Varkala, in a seaside resort, enjoying the sun and the sand! THE SUN, yes you heard me right! As against Delhi’s sickening cold.

Varkala is a series of cliffs on the Arabian Sea, and quite stunning from both ends of the coast.

We’ve been doing things, also visiting adjoining areas such as Kollam, Kochi and Trivandrum.

Here’s are two pics from one of our evenings — eating a huge grilled Butterfish marinated and rubbed with Kerala spices, lemon and pepper and folded in banana leaf. Devoured on the cliff!

fish grill 2

fish grill

Image courtesy: Debra Castillo, Professor, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY

***

A poem for the sea or sun? I found one evoking the fisherman. There are plenty of them in Varkala. So read on:

The Fishermen’s Farewell

BY ROBIN ROBERTSON

Their long stares mark them apart; eyes gone
to sea-colors: gray, foam-flecked

**

and black in the undertow, blue
as the blue banners of  the mackerel, whipping west.

**

On land, they are smoke-walkers, where each stone
is a standing stone, every circle a stone circle.

**

They would be rumor if they could, in this frozen
landscape like a stopped sea, from the great stone keels

**

of  Callanish to the walls of  Dunnottar and Drum.
They would be less even than rumor:

**

to be ocean-stealers, to never throw a shadow —
to dream the blank horizon and dread the sight of  land.

**

The drink storms through these men, uncompasses
them, till they’re all at sea again.

**

Their houses, heeled over in the sand:
each ruin now a cairn for kites.

**

And down by the quay
past empty pots, unmended nets, and boats:

**

this tiny bar, where men sleep upright
in their own element, as seals.
**

—Source: Poetry (January 2013).

8 comments on “My Poems in Hindi — Cloud Messaging; Beach Bumming! “The Fisherman’s Farewell”

  1. Agneya Dube
    February 3, 2013

    I have read your poems translated by Reenu in SAMALOCHAN..After that i contacted her and express my desire to publish you poems in my print magazine SADANEERA It is centered on poetry.Reenu suggested me to ask your permission.Although i asked her your e-mail address but,somehow she is not obliged me. So i urge you to permit me to print your poems in SADANEERA and also allowed me to translate your more poems and get them published in my magazine.
    I hope your response would be positive one.Where i would be able to find your e-mail add.?
    AGNEYA

  2. Do You See
    February 6, 2013

    Is Sadaneera a print as well as web journal? Any links so I could look up, Agneya? Appreciate you getting in touch with me.

    • Agneya Dube
      February 6, 2013

      Thank you for your response.It is a print journal,planning soon to publish it on line.I think that you are at present visiting India.Would it be possible to send me your local temporary postal address so that i would be able to send it to you by speed post at the earliest.
      I am very much interested in publishing your poems in the next issue to be out in March.
      AGNEYA

  3. Do You See
    February 6, 2013

    Is Sadaneera a print as well as web journal? Any links so I could look it up, Agneya? Appreciate you getting in touch with me.

    • agneyamaya
      February 6, 2013

      Thank you for your response.It is a print journal,planning soon to get it published on line.I think that at present you are visiting India.Is it possible for you to intimate me your local temporary postal address so that i would be able to send it by speed post.I am very much interested in publishing them in the next issue going to be out in March.
      AGNEYA

  4. Agneya Dube
    February 6, 2013

    Thank you for your response.It is a print journal but planning very soon to get it publish on line.I think that at present you are in India.If it is possible for you to intimate me your local temporary postal address, i would send it by speed post at the earliest.I am very much interested in publishing them in next issue due in March.
    Your voice is very different from contemporary poets.
    agneya

  5. Agneya Dube
    February 6, 2013

    Thank you for your response.It is a print journal,but planning very soon to publish it on line. I think that at present you are visiting India.Would it be possible for you to send me your local temporary postal address?So that i would be able to send it by speed post at the earliest.I am very much interested in publishing your poems in the next issue due in March.

  6. finaaz
    March 4, 2014

    it would a favour if anyone give an analysis of the poem “houses” by ajneya

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 28, 2013 by in BLUE VESSEL, Kerala, Nabina Das, poetry, Samalochan Literary, Varkala.
