nabinadas13

Do You See?

BLUE VESSEL Copies are Here!; Meeting a Mentor, and Friends

Haven’t had time to blog. Work prospects or speculations about it loom large. Back in Hyderabad and I’m sighing among the clutter of boxes and suitcases. Sighing because this clutter is mine. What fell upon me in the last 6 months wasn’t mine. I’m a troglodyte. I suffer of what is not mine. Not my little cave.

Good tiding is that BLUE VESSEL is here. Not very many copies. I have a few earmarked for friends and guides. The rest can be bought a piece for $ 4.08 or Rupees 200. Not counting the shipping charge I incurred. Here’s a nightly picture of my happiness on having the real book/s.

bv copies

***

My Masters supervisor from JNU, Dr. Anvita Abbi, has been awarded Padma Shri, one of the highest civilian awards of India. Usually, I don’t care for these prizes whose chosen ones are mostly cricketers and film stars. That a linguist was recognized, is terrific. Abbi has been working on Andamanese for the past decades and has documented the last dead member of the Boa community, a grandma named Bo Sr.

While Abbi was in Hyderabad recently, I discovered one of my former Syntax professors, GS, is almost my neighbor, and that we both knew Abbi. We met up in Barbecue Nation for an evening’s meal and chat. Cherished those moments. Photos tell the truth, right?

IMG_6378

???????????????????????????????

***

Here’s celebrating one year of a water flask.

???????????????????????????????

***

Met up my educator friend JK and her husband in JNU cafeteria. She had egged me on to write a story-poem for Nagaland school students. Another interesting story there. Apparently, the students love the poem. Well, I wore a sari to go meet her, and realized how much weight I’ve lost. Want to gain at least 5 kilos. Gimme bacon.

IMG_6322

***

5 comments on “BLUE VESSEL Copies are Here!; Meeting a Mentor, and Friends

  1. Mihir Vatsa
    April 18, 2013

    neela container. πŸ™‚

  2. Do You See
    April 19, 2013

    Interesting that you use “container” for VESSEL, Mihir! Neela is Hindi though. Neela Jahaz (ship)? Neela Bartan (container)? Puns are possible πŸ™‚

  3. Do You See
    April 29, 2013

    Bar? As in a place to drink? Why, oh why, little Vatsa?

  4. Do You See
    April 29, 2013

    Ok, btw Vatsa, I still couldn’t get into my dashboard. Can’t upload new post. What’s Wp got, bird flu? I’m so annoyed! Someone help.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 18, 2013 by in BLUE VESSEL, fiction, Nabina Das, poetry.
