nabinadas13

Do You See?

Mini-Reviews for BLUE VESSEL; Sunday Tea; Love is More Thicker…

Three mini-reviews for BLUE VESSEL. This is after award winning poet and fiction writer Rumjhum Biswas reviewed the book on The Four Quarters Magazine.

Tim Buck, my scholarly and discerning friend from Arkansas, wrote this — actually a micro one — on his music-poetry-arts-philosophy blog. Micro, but solid, pithy and melodic.

Poet and educator Ananya Guha placed a review in the new but fast rising journal from the Northeast — The Thumb Print magazine (editor Teresa Rehman). Short but analytical. I got embarrassed he drew some parallel to Ted Hughes and Philip Larkin. I mean, oh no! But Ananya is a prolific and seasoned writer-cum-columnist.

The third review is not a review so to say. More a reflection. Written by my young student friend Mihir Vatsa who happens to be good poet himself. He was determined to send a version of it to a journal but wanted the uncut one on his blog. When he asked me, I said sure, go ahead! It’s a delightful read because he talks about other things like how we stumbled upon each other on FB, and how I’d thrown a challenge at folks to write their version of Leda and the Swan! And somewhere he refers to me as “teacher”. Well!

***

Almost after an entire year, we had a Sunday tea party with M’s colleagues. I never had the time with writing, teaching, chores and travels. He always wanted one for sometime. For me a dinner was still an impossibility with everything going on around me. So there was our old gang from EFLU. Chicken kebabs, fritters, spicy lentil vadas, five different types of sweets, soda pop, masala chai, Darjeeling tea… Enough, right? Of course I didn’t cook anything. All from a famous snack shop right next by. All this followed by guitar and songs and silly gossip. We did well.

***

It was Father’s Day yesterday. While I marvel at how American “days” have permeated ours, it’s probably not too bad to remember dad, or Baba, as I called him. Suddenly I recall that I discussed him quite recently with a newly met person. Unusual of me to talk at length about my dead father with a man I met only a few extended hours. But it wasn’t uncomfortable. Whether it was the new place I was in, the all-pervading memory of my father, the mellow waterfront evening, or just my new acquaintance’s ease of interacting — I do not know.

But it appeared that he was once young, and in love:

houseofroses 055

Yes, that is a high school me behind my sweet mother. Brother overcame his teenage consciousness to pose with the rest of us,

***

Hence nothing but ee cummings comes to my mind.

[love is more thicker than forget]

BY E. E. CUMMINGS

love is more thicker than forget
more thinner than recall
more seldom than a wave is wet
more frequent than to fail

**

it is most mad and moonly
and less it shall unbe
than all the sea which only
is deeper than the sea

**

love is less always than to win
less never than alive
less bigger than the least begin
less littler than forgive

**

it is most sane and sunly
and more it cannot die
than all the sky which only
is higher than the sky

***

“more frequent than to fail”

So what’s the fear?

6 comments on “Mini-Reviews for BLUE VESSEL; Sunday Tea; Love is More Thicker…

  1. Mihir Vatsa
    June 17, 2013

    Thank you, ND.

    Also, this hit my blog today. Thought you might want to take a look.
    http://mihirvatsa.tumblr.com/post/53189034039/what-a-fantastic-review-of-nabinas-collection-of-poem

  2. Do You See
    June 17, 2013

    My pleasure MV. Well written it was. And you see praise is coming in for you!

    Btw, you now sorted out the comments box on your tumblr blog? Kindly extend my thanks to Kriti. Ask people to share your write up. It was very kind of Rafiul to do so this morning. Jaggery magazine still might look for a reviewer. But you’ve already written yours 🙂

    Thanks to you!

  3. Mihir Vatsa
    June 17, 2013

    I’d added a comment box thru Disqus two days ago, but it attracted a lot of spam. So I deactivated it again. There’s a humble “Ask” feature on Text/Image (I changed the name of my blog too!) that allows people to ask me anything. And I reply to those queries/comments accordingly. Like the one Kriti used. I like it better.

    I will: 1) convey your thanks
    2) ask people to share the link

    And yes, Rafiul’s gesture was indeed very kind. I was very happy to see that people actually read what I wrote. Even Ananya sir’s comments were very encouraging. Feels good when someone recognises things which I had in mind while I was reviewing your book.

  4. Do You See
    June 17, 2013

    Ananya was refreshing. He’s a gentleman.

    Tumblr seems to be a bit tough. Am glad my Wp is back working. Have you noticed the new design? 🙂 It’s called HATCH!

  5. Shruti Sareen
    July 12, 2013

    That’s a beautiful, lovely old photograph, and a beautiful beautiful e.e.cummings poem, Nabina. Took me some time to understand it line by line. Thank you for sharing.

  6. Shruti sareen
    August 24, 2013

    can I please share another e.e.cummings poem here… I just came across it yesterday, and I remember it by heart now, because I find it so very beautiful…

    e.e. cummings

    “in time of daffodils(who know
    the goal of living is to grow)
    forgetting why,remember how

    in time of lilacs who proclaim
    the aim of waking is to dream,
    remember so(forgetting seem)

    in time of roses(who amaze
    our now and here with paradise)
    forgetting if,remember yes

    in time of all sweet things beyond
    whatever mind may comprehend,
    remember seek(forgetting find)

    and in a mystery to be
    (when time from time shall set us free)
    forgetting me,remember me”

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 17, 2013 by in BLUE VESSEL, Nabina Das, poetry.
