nabinadas13

Do You See?

December Travels; Short Fiction Book Cover; “the stain of love”

Traveling out of Hyderabad on Sunday morning. A month with my mom. A month of reflection. A month that brings forth my dad’s memories for I never saw him again since this month of December in 2010. Only his voice in our last phone conversation lingers on.

***

The cover of my short fiction collection THE HOUSE OF TWINING ROSES: Stories of the Mapped and the Unmapped is here. The copies should be coming soon. I almost feel they should just be let go, fly wherever they want to, without my need to know their whereabouts.

The book has a foreword by Ashok K Banker, one of India’s bestselling authors, a front jacket blurb by the well known translator and writer Arunava Sinha, and a back cover blurb by US bestselling author and genre writer Kris Saknussemm.

F1

My mother will be mighty happy with the cover photo. It’s our erstwhile own house in Guwahati, Assam. The rose at the porch were tended by my mother herself. I let myself be trapped in that bit of sentimentality.

***

And why, always, is this true?

“Love Song” BY WILLIAM CARLOS WILLIAMS

I lie here thinking of you:—

the stain of love
is upon the world!
Yellow, yellow, yellow
it eats into the leaves,
smears with saffron
the horned branches that lean
heavily
against a smooth purple sky!
There is no light
only a honey-thick stain
that drips from leaf to leaf
and limb to limb
spoiling the colors
of the whole world—

you far off there under
the wine-red selvage of the west!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 15, 2013 by in fiction, Nabina Das, poetry, The House of Twining Roses, William Carlos Williams.
